Bill Walton Rides Clean!

I went to the Golden State Warriors game on Friday night with my brother-in-law.  A friend of my fathers has incredible seasons tickets but he couldn’t make it so somehow we got the tickets.

We showed up an hour and a half early to take in the atmosphere and check out the shoot around.  As we were seated we see Bill Walton come out onto the floor.  For those of you who don’t know, Bill Walton is a Hall of Fame NBA player and legend and top NBA announer.  Apparently he broadcasts 10 or so games a year for the Kings, who the Warriors were playing.

I had just read that Bill Walton is a huge cyclist.  Check it out – here is a photo of him and his track bike

When you are 6'11" everything you own needs to be bigger

Being the shameless self promoter I am I decided I’d work up the nerve to try and talk with him about Clean Bottle.  I downed my beer and then wandered over to where he was talking with a few people.  Just as he was saying goodbye I called out for him.  Bill is about 10 feet taller than me so I shouted so he could hear.

Here is how the conversation went:

Me: “Bill, I am a big fan of yours”

Bill: “thank you”

Me: “I also know that you do a lot of cycling, I love to bike as well and do a lot of local races.  Hey, did you watch the Tour de France this year?

Bill: “Sure”

Me: “Did you by any chance see a giant bottle running around?”

Bill: “Of course.  Every stage.  Thats the bottle that unscrews from the bottom.  What a great idea”

(at this point I basically pass out I was so excited, but here is how I think the conversation goes)

Me: “That was me – I was the guy in the costume.  I invented the Clean Bottle and then dressed up in a giant bottle to promote it!”

(I pull out my cell phone and show him a photo of me dressed as Bottle Boy, standing next to the Devil at the Tour)

Bill: “That was you?  Wow”

Me: “I’d love to get you some bottles.”

Bill: “That sounds great, please email me”

The experience was unbelievable and totally surreal.  A famous celebrity had recognized me – well recognized Bottle Boy at least.  I’ve chased my share of celebrities at the Tour (Lance, Levi, Alberto, Andy) but I’ve never had a conversation with one.  I had no idea how it was going to go.  Bill Walton was a total class act.  Very friendly and very approachable.

I emailed him from the game and when I woke up the next morning I got an email back from him.  Wow!

So if you see a 6’11” guy riding around with Clean Bottles you’ll know who it is.  Or better yet, if you see Bottle Boy and it looks like he has grown a foot, then you’ll know who it is:)

Me showing Bill Walton a photo of Bottle Boy at the Tour. Thanks to my brother-in-law for snapping the photo, instead of taking photos of the cheerleaders (which is what I would have done)

One Response to “Bill Walton Rides Clean!”

  1. Tweets that mention Bill Walton Rides Clean! « CLEAN BLOG -- Topsy.com Says:

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by rhylkema, Clean Bottle. Clean Bottle said: What do NBA Hall of Famer Bill Walton and you have in common? You both love Clean Bottle. Click here to read more: http://bit.ly/h5wMVd [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

