Tour de France Diaries – Stage 3

Stage 3 – Morzine to St. Jean de Maurienne

Wow, I thought the bay area had some climbs, but it is nothing compared to what I saw today.  22 kilometers of climbing!  Wow.  And this came after several other mountain climbs.  I definitely have a great respect for the pros after seeing what they have to deal with on a daily basis.

I woke up a bit groggy from the Italian wine and the high altitude but still managed to make it out for a nice 2 hour ride.  I still had this feeling that I was riding in the heavens or something, it just felt like I was that high up.

I got back to the car and loaded up the costume and made my way 3 miles up to the top of the climb.  By the time I got to the top, it was closed, so I had to walk on the side of the road with the damn bottle boy costume and the bike.  This stage definitely wasn’t Bottle Boy friendly.

I camped out a few hours before the stage.  I ended up sitting next to two great guys from America, Glen and Franz (unfortunately it wasn’t Hanz and Franz).  They were following the Tour and riding the stages as well.  Franz is built like me, about 5’9” and 150 lbs.  In other words, really skinny.  He was telling me ‘you see these guys in the Tour who are my height, but they are 135 lbs” and then he pulled up his shirt and pointed to his non existent stomach and chicken arms and says “how is anyone 15 lbs skinnier than me?”

He makes a great point. I don’t know how those guys are so skinny.  Maybe a secret form of doping they do is to remove all non-essential organs and every other toe in an effort to lose weight.  That’s the only thing I can think of.

My hard work paid off on this stage and I got some good camera footage.  My buddy posted it but by the time I went to check it out I saw this screen:

Banned by the ASO (the Tour’s owner)! I take that as a compliment!  I’m definitely framing as screen shot of that when I get home and maybe I’ll have a limited edition Bottle  Boy “Banned by the ASO” t-shirt made J  Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

